Registrar congratulates winners of Indigenous Governance Awards

The Registrar of Indigenous Corporations, Anthony Beven, has congratulated the Waltja Tjutangku Palyapayi Aboriginal Corporation from Alice Springs for winning the top award at this year’s prestigious Indigenous Governance Awards. The corporation won the ‘Category A’ award for ‘incorporated entities’ while Girringun Aboriginal Corporation in north Queensland was the runner up and received the highly commended award.

With 113 applications received from a diverse range of organisations from across Australia it was a particularly strong field this year. At the gala event held at BHP Billiton's headquarters in Melbourne last night, the Indigenous Governance Awards chairperson, Professor Mick Dodson, described Waltja Tjutangku Palyapayi Aboriginal Corporation as ‘a very well-run organisation concentrating on delivering services to families and communities.

‘Waltja is difficult to fault in its governance, it’s one of the best organisations I have encountered, the best in Australia.’

The awards were presented by the Prime Minister, the Hon Tony Abbott MP, and the Minister for Indigenous Affairs, Senator the Hon Nigel Scullion.

Both Waltja Tjutangku Palyapayi Aboriginal Corporation and Girringun Aboriginal Corporation are registered under the Corporations (Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander) Act 2006 (CATSI Act).

‘This is a most pleasing result for these two Aboriginal corporations,’ said Anthony Beven. ‘I also want to congratulate the two other CATSI Act-registered corporations that were among the finalists—Australian Indigenous Mentoring Experience Indigenous Corporation and Ngnowar-Aerwah Aboriginal Corporation.’

Created by Reconciliation Australia in partnership with BHP Billiton, the Indigenous Governance Awards celebrate and promote effective Indigenous governance.

For more information about the awards and this year’s winners go to:

Media contact
Patricia Gibson
(02) 6146 4743
ORIC MR1415-13
31 October 2014