Laynhapuy back in business

The Registrar of Indigenous Corporations, Anthony Beven, has today announced the end of the special administration at Laynhapuy Homelands Aboriginal Corporation.

The directors approached the Registrar for help shortly after transferring the registration of Laynhapuy to the Corporations (Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander) Act 2006 on 12 January 2012.

Laynhapuy is based in Yirrkala, near Nhulunbuy in the Northern Territory and delivers essential services to almost 1500 Yolngu people in 25 homelands and outstations across north-east Arnhem Land.

The special administration commenced on 23 January 2012. Some of the key achievements during the special administration include:

  • all outstanding trade creditors and suppliers were paid in full
  • a full suite of organisational and operational reforms were undertaken
  • a new board of directors, including two independent specialist directors, was appointed and a new rule book was approved
  • improved financial management and governance processes were put in place.

‘Laynhapuy is a very large and iconic corporation and this was a very complex special administration with many issues to resolve. Nevertheless the corporation has undergone a complete turnaround and restructure in just over nine months,’ Mr Beven said. ‘This would not have been possible without the support of Laynhapuy’s members, staff and funders throughout the reform process.’

‘Laynhapuy is a new organisation but it still maintains its original core values―Yolgnu people delivering essential services to their people in the Laynhapuy homelands.’

The directors that have been appointed to take Laynhapuy forward are:

  • Mr Barayuwa Mununggurr (chairman)
  • Mr Waka Mununggurr (member director)
  • Mr Mayila Wunungmurra (member director)
  • Ms Yananymul Mununggurr (member director)
  • Mr Yangipuy Wanambi (member director)
  • Mr Waturr Gumana (member director)
  • Mr Djipu Burarrwanga (member director)
  • Ms Leah Fricke (independent director)
  • Mr Bill Gray (independent director).

The Registrar thanked the special administrator, Gerry Mier from KPMG in Cairns, the transition manager, Chris Marshall, and the incoming chairman, Barayuwa Mununggurr, for leading the reforms at Laynhapuy.

For more information on special administrations please see ORIC’s fact sheet Special administrations: what members and directors should know available at

Media contact
Patricia Gibson
(02) 6146 4743
1 November 2012
ORIC MR1213-18